development · framework

Notes for building your own Sitecore development framework based on my simple one

Two months ago, I introduced my simple framework to everyone. It looks OK to me and my friends / my colleagues so I’d like to write down some notes for building your own one based on it. Hopefully, this post will save your time.

  1. Download the latest source code here
  2. Download Bulk Rename Utility and install it if not yet
    • rename all the folders, all the files whose name contains VietHoang to YourClientName
    • not_4
  3. Download Notepad++ and install it if not yet
    • open it and press Ctrl + F to open “Find” dialog
    • select Find in Files tab
    • find VietHoang inside all the files in project folder then replace to YourClientName
    • not_3
  4. Open YourClientName.Sitecore.sln via Visual Studio and make sure you build it successfully
  5. Refer to Step-by-step Guide in order to add your own tweaks if necessary

I highly recommend that you should install some Visual Studio extensions below as well:

  1. SlowCheetah – XML Transforms: it’s helpful for creating transform files
    • not_1
  2. File Nesting: it’s helpful for creating nest files
    • not_2

Happy Sitecore Coding!

4 thoughts on “Notes for building your own Sitecore development framework based on my simple one

Leave a Reply

